The Big Five-Oh!

Standard

This November I will turn 50! Does that seem old to you? My body reminds me that I am no spring chicken: bifocals, carpel tunnel, acid reflux, various aches and pains… But on the inside I feel the same as I ever did. I’m still that emotional young woman, struggling to make sense of the world, ready for every challenge, and excited about what the future holds. Granted, I’m not as impulsive or willing to take risks, but I still love a good adventure.

car-15927_1920I remember my teenage and young adult years like they were yesterday. Those days were filled with challenges and “firsts”: first car, first real relationship, first road trip alone, first concert, first job… And while I enjoyed those years, they were tough too, sometimes unbearably tough. But I believe the struggles, trials, failures, and setbacks I faced helped me become the woman I am today.

woman-591576_1920I like who I am. I’ve come a long way and wouldn’t ever want to go back. In particular, I cherish my marriage, my family, my friends, and the faith I have today. I wouldn’t give those up for the world! Hopefully, the world won’t ask me to. But you never know. Christians are being challenged every day throughout the world. And many times they are having to pay a high price for clinging to faith, family, and freedom. Even in our own country.

And as I turn 50, I take more seriously the fact that we are not made for this world but for the next. Will I live for 50 more years? Probably not. So, the way I see it, I’m over halfway home! I pray that I remain faithful to the end and I wonder: What adventure comes next?

“The eye has not seen, and the ear has not heard, nor has it entered into the heart of man, what things God has prepared for those who love him.” ~1 Corinthians 2:9

Leave a Reply

