Blogging from A to Z Challenge: Letter G ~ Guam

Standard

G.jpg

“G” is for Guam

When I accepted the blogging from A to Z challenge, I intended to post about writing and books. What does Guam have to do with it? Every writer began their journey as a writer somewhere and mine began on Guam.

My father entered the Coast Guard at a young age. He was a radioman.

So our family moved around often. While my earliest memories are from my preschool years in California, I have a thorough recollection of my time in Guam. Living on an island was fun! Although, I admit I had no idea just how tiny Guam is.

My sister and brother and I loved exploring the woods behind our house and playing with strange bugs and with our friends. We did the same things any kid does, playing on playgrounds and riding bikes.

But my sister and I also played games that led to me becoming a writer. We played roll-playing games, using our favorite characters from movies and TV shows.

1978 TV programming: The Hardy Boys Mysteries, Battlestar Galactica, Welcome Back Kotter, Little House on the Prairie, Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, The Incredible Hulk, Wonder Woman…  And of course our favorite movie was Star Wars (A New Hope), which came out in 1977.

These games developed over the years. We created many of our own characters, and we started writing our stories down and illustrating them. I wish I had all our old stories and pictures! But I still have some of the characters that we developed in those early years. Modified versions of them are in all of my stories!

Faith was a natural and joyful part of my life back then. I believed everyone in the world was good and knew Christ. We attended Santa Barbara Catholic School with the sweetest sisters I’ve ever met. Several Chomorro women used to teach us how to make treats with coconut and how to weave baskets and mats from palm fronds.  It seemed to me that everyone on the island participated in our celebrations and processions and gatherings.

Life was exciting and fun and good back then. And I hold those memories dear and close to my heart. But I also want to share elements of it, if I can. So in all of my stories, I try to capture something of the joy of adventure, faith, and goodness.

So Guam is where the inspiration began for me. Where did it all begin for you? What inspired you to become a writer?

9 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Challenge: Letter G ~ Guam

  1. We role-played Little House on the Prairie on our school playground! I’m not well-traveled at all, having lived my entire life in two places, both in Pennsylvania, so that’s where inspiration has always been for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I know what you mean. I have two stories that are mostly complete but need some finishing touches, two more stories I am writing side by side because they overlap to a degree, six children’s stories that I need to revisit, a fantasy that I outlined and wrote a few chapter for, a Western . . . argh!!! I am always wishing I could write faster. I do find that Scrivener lets me write faster. But, alas, not fast enough. Plus, I don’t like to stick to one genre.

      Like

      • I like to write what the story and the characters tell me (in fact they often demand nothing less) I haven’t tried Scrivener, I’ve heard there is a bit of a learning curve? It is on the list, but for now Word suffices.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, it does have a bit of a learning curve. But it’s simple enough to get started. And you can learn about other features on Youtube. I’m sure I don’t know all the features but I like the “cork board,” outlining, and labeling features. And I like that it can make an ebook in any format (including one that smashwords will accept–they are tough). Have a great Sunday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

