Summer & Books: A Single Bead

Standard

Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

a single bead (002)

I am happy to blog about A Single Bead by Stephanie Engelman today. This book just won an “Excellence in Publishing” award from the Association of Catholic Publishers! These awards recognize the best in Catholic publishing. A Single Bead is the #2 winner in the Children’s Books category.

About the Book:

On the anniversary of the plane crash that took the life of her beloved grandmother and threw her own mother into a deep depression, 16-year-old Katelyn Marie Roberts discovers a single bead from her grandmother’s rosary–a rosary lost in the crash. A chance encounter with a stranger, who tells Katelyn that a similar bead saved her friend’s life, launches Katelyn and her family on a quest to find the other missing beads.

Their mysterious journey, filled with glimmers of hope, mystical events, and unexplained graces takes them further into the unknown. Katelyn turns to the Rosary for answers and soon finds that family, prayer, and the help of others may be the key to restoring what was lost.

I can’t wait to read this book for myself. One review I read said this story is “real, relevant, and, in spots, riveting.”

Reviews:

 A Single Bead is one of the best books I have ever read. I bought it for my twelve year old son after reading the summary of this book. To get him started with a new book, I usually read the first chapter to him and then he will read the rest by himself. With this book, however, I insisted on reading it to him because right from the beginning, I was captivated and wanted to know what was going to happen. Although this is geared toward teenagers, I feel it is a book for everyone. I loved it so much that I purchased copies of the book and am giving them to family and friends as gifts along with a pair of rosary beads. Stephanie Engelman has a real talent for writing, and I cannot wait for her next book.”

“Wow! What a beautiful story!! While the story is of a Catholic nature, I think it would be a great faith renewing read for anyone. Character development is one of my favorite characteristics of a good book. Stephanie did an excellent job of giving the reader enough information and description about the characters and relationships without dragging it out.”

Learn more about Stephanie Engelman and her book:

website:  http://afewbeadsshort.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pg/s.engelman.author/

Please contact her for all public speaking, press and publicity inquiries.

CathTeenBooks

One thought on “Summer & Books: A Single Bead

Leave a Reply

