Summer & Books: Treachery & Truth

Standard
Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

Treachery Truth cover (002)

Good King Wenceslaus went out . . .  You know the song. You sing it at Christmas. Well, maybe you don’t sing, but you hear the song on the radio! But do you know the story behind the song? The story behind the man?

Treachery and Truth by Katy Huth Jones

About the Book:

Immersed in the historical background of the tenth century, this true tale of Good King Wenceslas, as told by his faithful servant Poidevin, brings the reader into the Dark Ages. Fear grips the land of Bohemia as the faithful face betrayal and persecution under the reign of the pagan Duchess Dragomira. As she struggles for power with the rightful heir, Prince Václav, her foes forge alliances in secret despite the risk of discovery. Who will survive?


I asked author Katy Huth Jones about her book:

I’d sung the Christmas carol “Good King Wenceslas” all my life but didn’t learn the whole story about the real historical person until 1990. When I realized how faithful, courageous, and bold this early tenth-century saint had been at such a young age (he won his first battle at age 14), and how brightly shone the light of his faith during those dark pagan times, I knew I had to know more and share his inspirational story with teen readers. I decided to write the novel from the point of view of his young servant, Poidevin, and use Wenceslas’ Czech name, Václav. In December 2016, my husband and I finally had the opportunity to visit Prague and see all the places, statues, and art that I had only researched.

As a writer, I’m jealous. I would love to be able to visit the places I write about. Katy Huth Jones has a few pictures to share with us from her trip.

Wenceslas Statue closeup (002)

This is the famous statue in Wenceslas Square.

Wenceslas and Ludmila closeup stained glass (002)

Here we have a detail of a beautiful stained glass window in St. Vitus Cathedral, where Wenceslas is buried—that’s him as a boy praying with his grandmother, Saint Ludmila.

Wenceslas mural closeup (002)

Katy loves this mural of Saint Wenceslas because it shows him as a young teen, leading his army into battle.

Reviews:

I can’t wait to read Treachery and Truth. Judging by the description and reviews, I think my teen boys will love it too.

“In a time when so many people are searching for truth and trying to decide what to believe in, this historical novel offers a powerful example that may be especially important to our young people–a fine piece of writing from a gifted author.” ~ Amazon reviewer

“While it is written for teens, I enjoyed it immensely! I knew next to nothing about King Wenceslas/Vaclav nor Bohemian history. As seen through the eyes of his servant Poidevin, the reader glimpses the bravery, fortitude, humility, and generosity of Vaclav as well as the history of his life, political alliances, marriage, and death. His story also delivers beautiful messages about the meaning of suffering, fidelity to Christ, and loving our enemies.” ~Amazon reviewer

Visit Katy Huth Jones and learn more about her and her books:

Website/blog: http://katyhuthjones.blogspot.com

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/KatyHuthJones/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KatyHuthJones

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2914315.Katy_Huth_Jones

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/piccolokate/

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have you stumbled upon a favorite book this summer? Tell me about it in the comments. Feel free to share a link.

CathTeenBooks

3 thoughts on “Summer & Books: Treachery & Truth

  1. Another of my personal favorite books for teens! What better time to read about Good King Wenceslaus of Christmas carol fame when it’s 90 degrees out and we are dying for the return of winter? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

