Summer & Books: The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch

Standard
Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

BookCoverImageKindle (002)

This summer, expand your horizons and step into the heart of the world of foster children. Author T.M. Gaouette provides an inside look of the trials and joys in her book The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch.

About the Book:

Ten-year-old Benedict has been moved from one foster home to another, and he’s hated every one. When he arrives at Sunshine Ranch, he doesn’t bother unpacking. What’s the point? But his new foster parents and siblings are different from what he’s become used to. David and Martha Credence strive to instill love and Christian values in their family, and it inspires hope in each child.

Benedict is not into “religion,” but Sunshine Ranch is the home he’s secretly been yearning for. Still, he fears it’s all just a little too good to be true, and his sentiments are validated when he learns that they may lose Sunshine Ranch. Can the Credence children help save the Ranch? Will faith keep them together? Or will Benedict’s dream be shattered?

The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch is a story about a family devoted to God. It relays the personal journeys of all the Credence foster children and their struggles to overcome past and present pain and adversity. In this novel, the confidence of the devoted is challenged, but an even deeper understanding of God and His love are revealed.

“I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” Philippians 4:12-13I


I love to learn how authors come up with their story ideas. Some of my ideas come from the news, others come from real life experience. And still others come directly from my imagination or from contemplating an idea or a “what if?” I asked author T.M. Gaouette how she came up with the story idea for The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch.

Author T.M. Gaouette’s answer:

I’m not sure how other authors come up with stories, but for me a novel can begin with a single moment in a scene. My moment was the main protagonist Benedict walking past a beautifully decorated living room with a large burning hearth. Another child, around his age, walks in and says, “It’s like a scene in a movie, right?”

I was inspired by the idea of a child who knew only the dark side of foster care, entering the light of those many other homes that offer love and compassion and patience. Martha and David’s foster care home was like a scene in a movie. And this was one of the reasons why Benedict struggled to feel at home. He was afraid that one day the movie would end. By the way, I never did use that scene in the final version of The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch. But the concept remained.

Amazon Reviews:

“From page one I was pulled into this extremely moving novel about a young boy in the foster care system, unwanted and hurting, and how God draws him to Himself by incredible and quite surprising events.”

“I am finding it difficult to put into words my thoughts about this book, because the story speaks directly to the heart, and there are no words sufficient for how my heart was touched by this book. From the first page to the last, I found myself drawn compellingly into the love, suffering and grace of a large family of foster children drawn together from diverse circumstances and cultures. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down! This is the best read I have had in a very long time!”

Connect with T.M. Gaouette and learn more about the author and her books:

Website: https://tmgaouette.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TMGaouette

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TMGaouette

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6037114.T_M_Gaouette

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have you stumbled upon a favorite book this summer? Tell me about it in the comments. Feel free to share a link.

CathTeenBooks

2 thoughts on “Summer & Books: The Destiny of Sunshine Ranch

Leave a Reply

