Summer & Books: Life-Changing Love

Standard
Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

9780996816861.MAIN

Life-Changing Love is the second book in my West Brothers series and it follows three teens, two West brothers and one teen girl, Caitlyn Summer. Caitlyn is one of my favorite characters. She’s nice to everyone and excited about life but she’s also thin, shapeless, and a bit clumsy. I confess I share some of those characteristics. I remember when I was in grade school, deep in conversation while strolling across the playground with a friend, and next thing I knew I was wrapped around a tether ball pole. Ouch.

If you want to get to know Caitlyn Summer, check out her character interview by clicking here.

About the Book:

Life-Changing Love by Theresa Linden is a contemporary Christian teen fiction. Caitlyn Summer, soon to be fifteen, must practice old-fashioned courtship with high parental involvement, but she has a terrible crush on shy Roland West and she has competition from a girl with no restrictions. As Caitlyn struggles to remain faithful to God, her parents, and herself, her best friend gets pregnant and might get an abortion. When Caitlyn discovers her mother’s past mistakes, she begins to resent all the guidelines her parents expect her to follow.

The characters in Life-Changing Love face the questions all teens face: Who am I? Where am I headed? How am I going to get there?


One reason I wrote this book is because teens face so many confusing messages now days, especially about love, chastity, and marriage. Our sex-obsessed culture wants them to grow up too quickly and makes them feel odd for living chastely. Teens are bombarded with bad examples in music, TV shows, books, and movies. I want to provide a wholesome alternative, a fun story of friendship and faithfulness. I want to reclaim the word “chastity,” not shunning it as a term that belongs to the unenlightened past but showing that it is a treasure that brings happiness, personal integrity, and self-worth today.

This story also takes readers to Italy and on an archaeological dig.


 

Since it would be weird to write a review of my own book, I’ll post a couple of review snippets from Amazon.

Caitlyn Summers is a character after my own heart. This teenage girl reminds me much of how I myself was as a teen with her shy and modest nature. I love how she realizes early on that she does not have to dress like the other girls, but, instead, has the perfect right to just dress according to her own personal style. She also discovers an important truth that many teenage girls today need to know: that you should never try to be someone else in order to appeal to a guy. This strength found in taking a stand is paralleled in Roland, the guy she likes, as he must find the courage to speak up when a wrong is being committed. The personalities of both characters are well-captured through both inner thoughts and how they present themselves to others.

Not only is Life-Changing Love an entertaining read, but it’s a great tool for launching conversations between teens and parents about their expectations for dating and relationships.”

This book has the Catholic Writers Guild Seal of Approval.logo color CWG SOA (002)

Want to learn more about Theresa Linden and her books?

website: www.theresalinden.com

blog: Things Visible & Invisible

Facebook author page

Twitter: @LindenTheresa

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have you stumbled upon a favorite book this summer? Tell me about it in the comments. Feel free to share a link.

CathTeenBooks

One thought on “Summer & Books: Life-Changing Love

Leave a Reply

