Summer & Books: Chasing Liberty

Standard
Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

9780996816809

While Roland West, Loner was the first book I wrote, it wasn’t the first one published. Chasing Liberty was! I’ve moved on from the publisher that first accepted my manuscript and published my book, but I will forever be grateful to them for giving me a chance. Thank you, World Castle Publishing!

If you think you might enjoy this dystopian, check out the GIVEAWAY for a chance to win the entire trilogy.

About the Book:

Set in the not-so-distant future where faith, family and freedom do not exist . . . Liberty 554-062466-84 of Aldonia lives in a responsible society that cares for the earth and everyone on it. They have learned to balance resource consumption with replacement initiatives, unavoidable pollution with clean-environment efforts. Science ensures that every baby born is healthy. The government ensures that every baby born is needed. All are cared for, taught, and given a specific duty to perform, their unique contribution to society. Why is Liberty so unsatisfied?

In less than two weeks, Liberty must begin her vocation. Every girl in Aldonia wishes she had Liberty’s vocation. Liberty would rather flee from Aldonia and live on her own, independent of the all-controlling government, the Regimen Custodia Terra. The high electrical Boundary Fence crushes any thought of escape. The ID implant imbedded in her hand makes it impossible to hide. She has no choice but to submit. Liberty is slated to be a Breeder.
As vocation day draws near, a man with an obsession for Liberty attacks her and injects her with a drug. She’s about to lose consciousness when someone comes to her rescue, a man in a mottled cape and dark glasses. She wakes in an underground facility where people watch over Aldonia with an array of monitors and surveillance equipment. These people are full of secrets, but she discovers one thing: they rescue a man scheduled for re-education. Liberty gains a glimmer of hope. They rescued him. They can rescue her.

Before I wrote my dystopian fiction, Chasing Liberty, I wrote Catholic teen fiction. I enjoyed reading Mary Higgins Clark’s mysteries, Louis L’Amour’s Westerns, Louis De Wohl’s novels about saints, and Dean Koontz’ supernatural fiction. I didn’t read or write dystopian. In fact, the word was not even familiar to me.

A dystopia is an imaginary society that is undesirable or frightening. It is literally translated as a “not-good place.”

Disturbing events occurring in our world got me thinking and concerned about our future. A little, endangered fish is being protected at the expense of drought-stricken farmers in California. The government tracks us through our phones and cars. They data-mine our online activity, searching for key phrases. Scientists push past ethical boundaries to experiment with cloning and stem cell research. Worse than the loss of privacy, the freedom of the individual is challenged. People are fined for living according to their faith. And the dignity of the human person seems all but lost.

What does tomorrow hold? Are we heading for a “not-good place”?

These are some of the motivations behind this story. To read more about why I wrote this trilogy, check out my blog post on the Catholic Writers Guild Blog: click here

 

Here are a couple of review snippets from Amazon.

Phenomenal fast paced, gripping book. Left me wanting more and more. Very relative to what is going on today. Looking forward to next book. A must read.

“Chasing Liberty is an awesome read! This book grabbed my interest right from the start! The unexpected twists and turns of the story really made the reading exciting! Each character had their own uniqueness. Hopefully our world will never turn out like this, but it sure does feel possible. I really loved the attention to detail – it made me feel like I was living in the book, picturing in my mind every place and person, and sharing with their thoughts. Theresa Linden has captured emotions, personalities, societies, generations and attitudes in a way like a superb author would! So impressive! Looking forward to more books in the series! I really want to know what happens next! Thanks for a great book!”

Want to learn more about Theresa Linden and her books?

website: www.theresalinden.com

blog: Things Visible & Invisible

Facebook author page

Twitter: @LindenTheresa

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have you stumbled upon a favorite book this summer? Tell me about it in the comments. Feel free to share a link.

CathTeenBooks

One thought on “Summer & Books: Chasing Liberty

Leave a Reply

