Summer & Books: I Am Margaret

Standard

Inspired by the A to Z Blogging Challenge this past April, I have decided to blog about books for the month of June. I will be sharing tidbits about my own books and the other books on the Catholic Teen Books website.

9781910806074 (002)

Your next fast-paced, mind-blowing dystopian is here! Carnegie Medal Award nominated author Corinna Turner gives us a dystopian series with strong protagonists who have plenty of integrity. I Am Margaret is the first in this series. This book was one of two runners-up for the “Teen and Children’s” Catholic Arts Letters Award.

About the Book:

IN MARGO’S WORLD, IF YOU DON’T PASS YOUR SORTING AT 18 YOU ARE RECYCLED. LITERALLY.

“Look, if you don’t pass…” said Bane, “I’ll have to see what I can do about it. Because… well… I’ve been counting on marrying you for a very long time, now, and I’ve no intention of letting anything stop me!”

Margaret Verrall dreams of marrying the boy she loves and spending her life with him. But she’s part of the underground network of Believers – and that carries the death penalty. And there’s just one other problem. She’s going to fail her Sorting.
But a chance to take on the system ups the stakes beyond mere survival. Now she has to break out of the Facility – or face the worst punishment of all.
Conscious Dismantlement.

I asked author Corinna Turner to share some “behind the scenes” that went into the writing of this book:

When writing I Am Margaret, first I had to create this ultra-secure fortress – the Facility where Margaret and her companions are locked up. I applied myself to this with enthusiasm, because let’s face it, these supposedly secure lock-ups with glaring and obvious weaknesses (air ducts, anyone?) are really annoying to read about and smack of laziness on the part of authors and scriptwriters.

But then… Uh oh. My characters needed to plan an escape. This was a serious problem! I’d deliberately avoided any glaring weaknesses! How could they do it? I sat around for ages on end, waving my hands and talking to myself: So they could do that, then that, and then… yes! I’ve got it! Finally! Oh! Oh no! No, I forgot about the… No, it won’t work, it just won’t… Oh no, I can’t get them out. They’re all dooooooomed…

Eventually the Holy Spirit took pity on me and their plan took shape. But does it succeed? Well, that would be telling!

 Here are a few reviews:

“Great style—very good characters and pace.
Definitely a book worth reading, like The Hunger Games.” ~EOIN COLFER, author of the ARTEMIS FOWL books

“An intelligent, well-written and enjoyable debut from
a young writer with a bright future.” ~STEWART ROSS, author of THE SOTERION MISSION

“This book invaded my dreams.” ~SR MARY CATHERINE B. OP

“Probably one of the best Christian fiction books I have read.” ~CAT CAIRD, blogger, “Sunshine Lenses”

“This book is not for the faint of heart… I found myself emotionally worn out by the time I finished the book, after a rollercoaster ride of feelings … Without the faith element, I would probably have merely liked this book. With it, however, I loved it.” ~FR PAUL COLEMAN OFM Cap, blogger, ‘A Certain Hope’

“The beginning was a punch in the gut … The ending went by in a flash, and I paced the room reading the penultimate chapter. Everything in between was alternatively moving, exciting, and sad in turns.” ~JOSEPH WETTERLING, Goodreads Librarian

This book has the Catholic Writers Guild Seal of Approval.
logo color CWG SOA (002)
Learn more about Corinna Turner and her books:

Website: http://www.IAmMargaret.co.uk

Review Blog: https://faithfullfilms.wordpress.com/

Face Book Author Page

Amazon.co.uk Author Page

Amazon.com Author Page

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CorinnaTAuthor

Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have you stumbled upon a favorite book this summer? Tell me about it in the comments. Feel free to share a link.

CathTeenBooks

2 thoughts on “Summer & Books: I Am Margaret

Leave a Reply

